Chelsea's Cesc Fabregas 'not surprised' by no penalty at Arsenal
Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas felt he deserved to be awarded a penalty in Sunday's 1-0 win at Arsenal but was "not surprised" when the decision did not go his way.
Fabregas, 28, went down in the box in the second half of the Blues' victory when he collided with defender Laurent Koscielny.
Referee Mark Clattenburg, who sent off Per Mertesacker in the first half for a foul on Diego Costa, waved away the appeal.
Asked if he thought a penalty should be been given, former Gunners playmaker Fabregas told Sky Sports: "In my opinion, yes. But the referee said no, what can I do?
"It's not the first time, it's not the second, it's not the third that I was denied a penalty. So I'm not surprised any more.
"Yes, really. Counting last year. Maybe it's a coincidence."
Meanwhile, Chelsea defender Kurt Zouma told reporters after the triumph: "It was important for us to come and win here. We're proud and happy.
"Our first part of the season wasn't good and now we want to take a maximum number of points with the same desire we showed this evening."