Barcelona awarded ridiculous penalty vs. Eibar as Jordi Alba trips himself up
While undeniably dramatic, the game didn't pass without controversy as Barca, still trailing at the time, were awarded one of the most farcical penalties of this or any other season in the 70th minute.
Indeed, referee Alejandro Jose Hernandez deemed there to be sufficient contact on Jordi Alba to warrant a penalty, despite the fact that the full-back clearly tripped himself up in the area.
As it happens, Lionel Messi subsequently missed the resultant penalty as Eibar goalkeeper Yoel guessed correctly to deflect the powerful shot over the crossbar.
Karma really can be a nuisance sometimes.
Chris covers the funny side of the game for ESPN FC in the Toe Poke blog.