Previous
Sheffield United
West Bromwich Albion
11:45 AM UTC
Game Details
Next
 By Chris Wright

Dnipro goalkeeper scores from own half only to have goal disallowed

For one beautiful moment, Dnipro stopper Jan Lastuvka thought he'd finally sealed his lifelong membership to the illustrious goal scoring goalkeeper's club when he belted one in from his own half against Zorya over the weekend.

Sadly, Lastuvka's joy was to prove short-lived, with the referee almost immediately chalking off the Dnipro keeper's massive 75-yard effort after spotting an off-the-ball infringement while the ball was in flight.

Even if the officials hadn't blown for a foul, it was an indirect free kick which didn't touch anyone, so wouldn't have counted anyway.

As it happens, Dnipro went on to win 2-1 regardless -- not that it came as much consolation to their poor, cruelly snubbed goalkeeper.

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.