Derby County
11:45 AM UTC
Game Details

Adrian Mierzejewski, Daniel Arzani win end-of-season A-League honours

Sydney FC's Adrian Mierzejewski celebrates scoring goal against Western Sydney Wanderers
Adrian Mierzejewski was honoured for his contribution to Sydney FC this season.

Sydney FC's Adrian Mierzejewski is the runaway winner of the Johnny Warren Medal, claiming the A-League's top individual honour in his first season in Australia.

Mierzejewski polled 37 votes from his 24 regular season games to finish 11 votes clear of next-best pair Dimitri Petratos and Leroy George.

The midfielder was favourite to win the prize and did not disappoint in polling, which was undertaken by former players, FFA technical staff, match officials and media.

While Mierzejewski was a clear winner, the W-League prize could not be split between Matildas from either end of the pitch.

Golden Boot winner Sam Kerr shared the Julie Dolan Medal with her national captain Clare Polkinghorne after both women received 17 votes.

The Perth Glory striker and Brisbane Roar centre-back were two clear of Matildas teammates Emily van Egmond (Newcastle) and Lisa De Vanna (Sydney FC) and Welsh international Jess Fishlock (Melbourne City).

Premiership winning coaches Melissa Andreatta and Graham Arnold were honoured with coach of the year prizes, though neither side won through to the grand final after being beaten by fourth-placed finishers in their respective semifinals.

Daniel Arzani
Daniel Arzani was named the outstanding young player in A-League.

Melbourne City wonder-teen Daniel Arzani won the young player of the year.

He will hope to replicate W-League young player of the season winner Ellie Carpenter, of Canberra United, who has broken in to the national team setup off the back of her performances.

Brisbane Roar took a clean sweep of the goalkeeping awards, with Jamie Young and Mackenzie Arnold winning the golden glove prizes.

Jarred Gillett won his fourth straight referee of the year prize, while Casey Reibelt won the W-League equivalent.

The night also honoured three individuals with FFA Hall of Fame entry.

Legendary Socceroo Mark Bresciano and former Matildas captain Sonia Gegenhuber were inducted alongside pioneering journalist Andrew Dettre.



Johnny Warren Medal: Adrian Mierzejewski (Sydney FC)

Coach of the Year: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

Golden Boot: Bobo (Sydney FC - 27 goals)

Goal of the Year: Andrew Nabbout (Newcastle Jets, Round 20 v Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jamie Young (Brisbane Roar FC)

Young Footballer of the Year: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City FC)

Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett


Julie Dolan Medal: Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar) and Sam Kerr (Perth Glory)

Coach of the Year: Melissa Andreatta (Brisbane Roar FC)

Golden Boot: Sam Kerr (Perth Glory - 13 goals)

Goal of the Year: Lisa De Vanna (Sydney FC, Round 8 v Canberra United)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Mackenzie Arnold (Brisbane Roar FC)

Young Footballer of the Year: Ellie Carpenter (Canberra United) Referee of the Year: Casey Reibelt


Player of the Year: Louis D'Arrigo (Adelaide United)

Golden Boot: Abraham Majok (Western Sydney Wanderers FC).


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.