Manchester City
5:00 AM UTC
Game Details
Tranmere Rovers
Manchester United
7:00 AM UTC
Game Details
Shrewsbury Town
9:00 AM UTC
Game Details
Game Details

Graham Arnold names first Australia squad for Turkey training camp

Graham Arnold's first Socceroos squad features just one A-League player among the 31 names heading to a week-long training camp next week.

Dimi Petratos is the sole Australian-based name among the group returning to to Antalya, Turkey -- the site of their pre-World Cup training camp -- under new management.

Uncapped players Denis Genreau, Ben Garuccio, Kenneth Dougall, John Iredale and Awer Mabil are among the names that will get the chance to forge international careers under Arnold.

Arnold has also restored World Cup hard luck stories Alex Gersbach, Bailey Wright and Mitchell Langerak to the national setup.

It's the first Socceroos squad selected without considering Tim Cahill after Australia's all-time leading scorer called time on his international career after Russia's World Cup.

The 38-year-old could still take a final bow in gold, with News Corp reporting he's in the frame for a farewell appearance in Sydney this November.

FFA is poised to announce a friendly with Lebanon at ANZ Stadium on Nov. 20, three days after a more serious hit-out with South Korea in Brisbane.

There are no games for the Socceroos next week, when Arnold will put a focus on team bonding, four months out from the Asian Cup.

"Next week's camp in Turkey marks the start of a new phase for the Socceroos," said Arnold. "While we will have numerous field, tactical, and video sessions during the seven days that we are together in Turkey.

"We will also spend plenty of time off the pitch discussing our individual and team objectives and identity."

All but five players have been retained from the squad of 23 that represented Australia in Russia. Mathew Leckie, Tom Rogic and Andrew Nabbout have been left out due to injury, Cahill has moved on and left-back James Meredith has been overlooked.

Fringe players Alex Susnjar, Mustafa Amini and Apostolos Giannou have also been selected.

Full Socceroos squad for Turkey training camp:

Goalkeepers: Brad Jones, Mitchell Langerak, Mat Ryan, Danny Vukovic.

Defenders: Aziz Behich, Milos Degenek, Ben Garuccio, Alex Gersbach, Matthew Jurman, Josh Risdon, Trent Sainsbury, Alex Susnjar, Bailey Wright.

Midfielders: Kenneth Dougall, Denis Genreau, Ajdin Hrustic, Jackson Irvine, Mile Jedinak, Massimo Luongo, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy.

Attackers: Mustafa Amini, Daniel Arzani, Mitchell Duke, Apostolos Giannou, John Iredale, Tom Juric, Robbie Kruse, Awer Mabil, Jamie Maclaren, Dimi Petratos.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.